PCOS and a 23 year old student

This new post is going to be about a situation that’s a huge part of my life right now and not in a good way.  This is going to be kinda long too but I want to tell everyone about it, so if you know someone who has been diagnosed with this or even you have it you can relate and even talk about it with me. Also know that you are not alone in this. This is a very stressful and hard condition to have in many ways and as the years go by I have learned to accept it and love me for who I am, with imperfections and all. I know that as I get older this will get worse so I have to be strong and ready for whatever it comes.

I was diagnosed with PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) when I was 18 years old by a gynecologist, Since that day I have been struggling with it and trying to get it under control which has been very hard. If you don’t know what PCOS is here is a good link with many information about it: http://www.womenshealth.gov/faq/polycystic-ovary-syndrome.cfm#j

It was not until this last year that all my symptoms really got worse. I was having troubles with: my mood swings, acne, oily skin, dandruff, weight gain, anxiety, depression, sleep apnea and many other things Im really to ashamed to write about. It really has been hell and I think it was thanks to a change in my medications. Since I was diagnosed with PCOS I was taking Yazmin (birth control pills) which my body eventually got so use to that it just stopped working, my doctor change it to Yaz (which made things even worse) and then I decided to have a second opinion. I went to a endocrinologist and he prescribed me provera 10 mg for 7 days every month. This just made things even worse. Two weeks ago I went again and explained to him that I was even missing my periods again. With that said he told me I had to go back to Yazmin pills which where the ones that once worked fine. He also told me that when they stop working again that I had to go back to provera and so on. I just hope that with Jazmin everything goes back to normal again and I just stop being miserable at all times.

This really sucks!! -_- it’s like a never ending story. My self-esteem has been damaged thanks to all this. I feel sick all the time and everyday I see a new symptoms. Also, this has affected my social skills with people. But I have to say this has taught me a lot of things in life, I have family and friends who love me for me and not because of my looks. Also this has helped me to grow and understand people going trough similar situations. Most of all I have learned to accept that I’m beautiful no matter what and that people really should stop looking into Hollywood and more into what’s really beautiful in a person. Our world is a beautiful place and each day we learn something new but if all you do is wrapped yourself into what society wants out of you, you are never going to be happy.

Here are some great PCOS Awareness photos I found:

Oh well, ladies and gents I hope I didn’t bored you LOL

Love you all!!

Emily

20 responses to “PCOS and a 23 year old student

  1. Great post, well done you for spreading the word about PCOS! I too suffer from PCOS and use my blog as a mean to keep me on track with my weight loss goals. Check it out if you are looking for hints and tips!!

    :-)
    Amanda

  2. jesuisblonde

    <3

  3. My advice, find another doctor.

    I have been dealing with an auto-immune arthritis since I have been 14, but didn’t get diagnoised until 33 because of stupid, uncaring doctors.

    Nobody is going to help you unless you help yourself. I have a wonderful doctor now but I can’t help but think if I would have found this doctor years or even a decade or so ago how much better I might be today.

  4. Amanda: Thanks so much for reading my blog!! I was looking for PCOS blogs but I’m new to this so didn’t found many or I didn’t like the ones I found, but yours is great!!! It made me laugh and it’s very inspiring. I will add you to my blogroll if you don’t mind =)

  5. Bowlnduo: The problem is there are no other treatments for PCOS but birth controll pills, provera or metformin. I’m going to search for a good nutricionist to se if that helps because I have heard of people getting much better with a balanced diet. Im a really picky eater and on top of that I don’t like meat that much so I just hope I can find a great one LOL

    Thanks for the advice!! There aren’t many endocrinologist in my country so I have even thought about going to one outside my country to see if they can help me.

    Hope your feeling better!! I’m sending many healing thoughts your way!! <3

  6. I definitely do not mind! Thank you! :-D

  7. It’s so good that you are able to share this Emily I am sure it will also help others with PCOS.
    Also don’t ever let anyone make you think you are not beautiful!!
    You are and you have generosity of spirit in abundance, keep strong Emily!

  8. Well the thing with this condition is that no one really is mean and tells me bad things, I have great friends and family. But is me the one who gets down and thinks the worst =( I’ve been working on it and I have with time getting to accept the way I am =)

  9. I have PCOS and wasn’t diagnoed until I was 24. I’m lucky at the moment as I’m a skinny cyster. But it is hard none the less, just remind yourself that the mood swings are from all the hormones and they arent your fault. I tried a PCOS diet designed to lower your glycemic index and ended up gaining weight that I haven’t been able to lose. My doctor prescribed me with the Nuvaring, I love it, no daily pills, no mood swings, no more painful cysts (I hate those things).
    Talk to your Dr. and let them know what you want now and it the future. there is a site called http://www.SoulCysters.com It’s an online forum with TONS of info on PCOS I spend about an hour a day on that site

  10. I haven’t gained any more weight since I was diagnosed with it but I haven’t loosen it either. On Monday Im going to a nutritionist to see if that helps if not I will have to find another endocrinologist.

    I try to control myself when having this mood swings but some times its really hard. My boyfriend doesn’t mind LOL I think he’s used to it now.

    Thanks!!! I will check the forum out tonight and see if I find anything there.

  11. Amanda Kay Tea

    I can relate on so many levels. unfortunately because i have no insurance, i cannot get the help i so desperately need. lately i have been so depressed and just “stuck in the mud” that i dont know what to do. i just dont have the energy or patience anymore to even go about getting the help i should be getting. im just drained and feel , most days, that i am never going to amount to anything other than a burden. i know my family loves me and everything, but i just feel stuck. reading your post has made me feel like i am not alone and there are others out there like me.

  12. In my country there’s a place were the goverment offer free care to all woman’s conditions related to a gynecologist. Its called Pro Familia (Pro Family) maybe you should search and see if in yours there something similar. It is free of charge and they HAVE to attend anyone that goes. If not then talk to a family member or a friend, maybe they can help you find more options. If you need more help or just someone to talk to just let me know ok :-) I am not an expert but I have experienced many things and know how it feels.

  13. It was really nice to read this and know im not alone, I have gone through the birth control line up as well.. i got so tired of it i eventually decided to not be on birth control at all anymore. I was single for a while and then about 2 years ago got married and we have been trying to get pregnant for about a year now. So we started going to a fertility and endocrineologist (may have spelled that wrong) who has been fabulous. I think finding the right doctor is definetly key but it is so hard to know when a doctor is going to give you that same go on birthcontrol/loose weight answer. Good luck with everything girl I hope we can help get the word out so they can help find a cure soon!
    -Kay

  14. Hi, I just wanted to share my story with you, I’m sure that you’ve found more answers since you originally posted this but I thought I’d mention the pill Apri (since all the birth control pills that you mentioned did not end up working), it doesn’t affect my mood and most importantly, it works.

    I too found out that I had PCOS when I was 17 – I was overweight and couldn’t lose weight, my hair was getting thin, I had a period maybe every eight months, and I felt like I was a much older person that a high school senior. I experienced these symptoms for years, my doctor told me to lose weight and be less stressed – of course that was not the cause of my absent periods. I tried Rogaine because I didn’t know what else to do, there was seemingly no cause for my thinning hair, dermatologists were stumped. Finally my gynecologist sent me to a reproductive endocrinologist, his name is Dr. Kent Crickard (in Williamsville NY, outside of Buffalo, NY), and since he began treating me, I have lost forty pounds, my hair grew back in, and I have normal peroids, and I feel great though I feel like my weight has hit a plateau. I was treated with Metformin, Apri, and Spironolactone (for hair – also treats acne but I didn’t have acne). Apri is worth a shot if you are still looking.

    It’s also good to know that there is a lot of support out there for all of us.
    Good luck with everything!

  15. Thanks!! Even though Im already in another pill (Beyaz) and it has work for me, I still have acne issues so I will surely ask my gynecologist about it :-)

    Thanks again! :-D

  16. I too have PCOS. Diagnosed a few days before my 21st birthday and have had for 10 years. I finally got great results after seeing an endocrinologist about 2-3 years ago. I am on Glumetza (brand name of metformin) because of the nasty side effects I have with metformin. I still have side effects, just less when on Glumetza. I also take Victoza, which is an injectable. To me it is my “miracle drug.” It has regulated my blood sugars and helped me loose over 100 pounds. I used to be on birth control pills because I never had my periods, but now I have them on my own. I think it’s because of the weight loss.

    It is a daily struggle. The excess facial hair, depression, weight issues all have an effect. All I can say is I wish I visited the endocrinologist when first diagnosed. I was so happy to be diagnosed, that everything wasn’t all in my head anymore, I did what my gyno told me. She was great, but there are more options out there than a gyno has access to. Like others have said, you have to search to find a doctor that works for you. I just moved and visiting a new endo in a few weeks. I really hate leaving my current endo but it’s a 5 hour drive and a time change. But if the new endo doesn’t measure up, I’m going back.

  17. It is so nice to know that there are others out there who are like me. It makes me feel comforted. Thanks! :)

  18. You post very interesting articles here. Your blog deserves
    much more visitors. It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful tool that can help you, just type in google: svetsern traffic tips

  19. Same condition…. I was dignosed pcos in the age of 14..nd still fighting with pcos.. What should I do nd what treatment I should take…plz do guide me

  20. Same condition…. I was dignosed pcos in the age of 14..nd still fighting with pcos.. What should I do nd what treatment I should take…plz do guide me

Leave a Reply

